THE CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF TEMAGAMI

BY-LAW NO. 05-637

Being a by-law to designate an Acting Head for Council and assign Committees and Committee responsibilities

WHEREAS Section 224, 225 and 226 of Part 6 of the Municipal Act S.O. 2001, c.25, as amended requires that Wayne Adair, Mayor for the Corporation of the Municipality of Temagami, be appointed as the head of Council and the Chief Executive Officer of the Corporation;

AND WHEREAS subsection 226 and 242 of the Municipal Act authorizes the council of any municipality to appoint, by by-law a member of Council to act from time to time in the place of the head of council when the head of the council is absent;

AND WHEREAS the Municipality of Temagami Procedural By-law authorizes appointment, with the written consent of the Head of Council, of members of council to sit on boards, commissions or other bodies of which the head of council is a member by virtue of office, under any general or special Act, except a police services board;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the Corporation of the Municipality of Temagami enacts as follows:

- 1. That Bill Kitts shall serve as Acting Mayor in the absence of Wayne Adair for the term of one year. Extension of the term or the rotation of the term shall be at the discretion of Council.
- 2. The Mayor appoint Council representatives to various boards, commissions and bodies. The appointments and the designation of Committees of Council are contained on Schedule "A" of this by-law and may be amended from time to time.
- This by-law shall come into force and take effect on date of passage of this bylaw.

- 4. That Schedule "A" of By-law No. 05-637 can be amended by resolution of Council.
- 5. That By-law No. 04-558 be rescinded.

Taken as read a first time this 24th day of November, 2005.

Taken as read a second and third time and finally passed this 8th day of December, 2005.

MAYOR

CAO/CL] ERK

Schedule "A" to By-law No. 05-637

THE CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF TEMAGAMI

Being a by-law to designate and Acting Head for Council and assign Committees and Committee responsibilities

General Government and Finance Committee Councillor Bill Kitts Alternate: Claire

Smerdon

Public Works and Water Committee Councillor Phil Koistinen Alternate

Ike Laba

Protection to Persons and Property Committee Councillor Bill Kitts Alternate:Claire

Smerdon

Parks and Recreation CommitteeCouncillor Ike Laba Alternate: Kelly

Prefasi

Planning and Development Committee Economic Development Committee

Economic Development Committee Social Services Committee

Councillor Biff Lowery
Councillor Ike Laba

Councillor Claire Smerdon

Committee Chairs can arrange to have alternates as they choose.

The following Boards and Committees also have a requirement for appointees:

Public Works and Water Committee

Tim Gooderham, Bob Comstock and Bill Howell Staff Members Rene Laperriere and Deb Larochelle

General Government and Finance Committee

Claire Smerdon Staff Member Brian Koski

Protection to Persons and Property Committee

Dave Oley, Staff Sgt. Alex Ivanov, Paul Elliott, Monty Cummings, Ed Riopel, Jim Sanderson Staff Member Brian Koski

Parks and Recreation Committee

Becky Mullin, Sharon Humphrey, Kim Jones Staff Member Mike O'Brien

Economic Development Committee

Wilma Debruyn, Larry Trahan, Debby Burrows, Margaret Youngs Staff Members Brian Koski

The Planning Advisory Committee/Committee of Adjustment

Lake Temagami: Gerry Gooderham, Jim Hasler, Jim Leach, and Claire Rannie. Urban: Rudy Goeree and Shelly Rowland

Councillor Biff Lowery. Staff Member: Monty Cummings.

The Cemetery Board

Bill Kitts, Shirley Lavigne, Becky Cummings, Morris Etmanski, John Allair, Mary Hartle and Betty Gauvreau Staff Member Bev Duquette

The Temagami Public Library Board

Councillor C. Smerdon. Evelyn Davies (Vice Chair), Carol Lowery, Joan Broughton, Sue Gooderham, Marj Belanger, Staff Member Shelley Rowland

The Temiskaming Health Unit (Temagami/Coleman/Latchford)

Biff Lowery

Caribou Mountain Committee

Bill Humphrey, John Salo and Debbie Burrows Staff Member: Mike O'Brien

Social Services Committee

The Nipissing District Social Services Board	Claire Smerdon
The Au Chateau Board	Claire Smerdon
The Temagami Non-Profit Housing Authority	Claire Smerdon
The Temiskaming Hospital Board (Temagami/Latchford) Ey Davies	

Chamber of Commerce

Council appointee: None at this time.

Temiskaming Municipal Association

Wayne Adair is the Council appointee.

The Temagami Police Services Board.

The Chair is community appointee Don Johnson. Council Appointee Kelly Prefasi and there is a provincial appointee currently held by Gary Reynolds.

Cochrane-Temiskaming Waste Management Board

Councillor P. Koistinen Tim Gooderham.

Lake Temagami Review Committee

This is a Committee that is responsible to review mining permits that may be applied for in Area No. 39 being the shoreline of Lake Temagami.

The members include: Tim Gooderham, Gerry Gooderham, Mike Leahy, Wayne Adair, TFN Chief and TAA Chief. Staff Member is Brian Koski

Provincial Offences Act Advisory Committee (Temagami Latchford)

There is one member appointed by Latchford his name is Bob McCarther