THE CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF TEMAGAMI

BY-LAW NO. 07-704

Being a by-law to designate an Acting Head for Council and assign Committees and Committee responsibilities

WHEREAS Section 224, 225 and 226 of Part 6 of the Municipal Act S.O. 2001, c.25, as amended requires that Ike Laba, Mayor for the Corporation of the Municipality of Temagami, be appointed as the head of Council and the Chief Executive Officer of the Corporation;

AND WHEREAS subsection 226 and 242 of the Municipal Act authorizes the council of any municipality to appoint, by by-law a member of Council to act from time to time in the place of the head of council when the head of the council is absent;

AND WHEREAS the Municipality of Temagami Procedural By-law authorizes appointment, with the written consent of the Head of Council, of members of council to sit on boards, commissions or other bodies of which the head of council is a member by virtue of office, under any general or special Act, except a police services board;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the Corporation of the Municipality of Temagami enacts as follows:

- 1. That Bill Kitts shall serve as Acting Mayor in the absence of Ike Laba for the term of one year. Extension of the term or the rotation of the term shall be at the discretion of Council.
- 2. The Mayor appoint Council representatives to various boards, commissions and bodies. The appointments and the designation of Committees of Council are contained on Schedule "A" of this by-law and may be amended from time to time.
- 3. This by-law shall come into force and take effect on date of passage of this by-law.
- 4. That Schedule "A" of By-law No. 07-704 can be amended by resolution of Council.
- 5. That By-law No. 05-637 be rescinded.

Taken as read a first time this 22nd day of February, 2007.

Taken as read a second this 8th day of March, 2007.

Taken as read a third time and finally passed this 8thday of March, 2007.

MAYOR

CAO/CCERK

Schedule "A" to By-law No. 07-704

THE CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF TEMAGAMI

Being a by-law to designate and Acting Head for Council and assign Committees and Committee responsibilities

General Government and Finance Committee Councillor Peter Healy

Alternate: Bill Kitts

Public Works and Water Committee Councillor Barry Graham

Alternate: Peter Healy

Protection to Persons and Property Committee Councillor Bill Kitts

Alternate: Barry Graham

Parks and Recreation Committee Councillor Wendell Gustavson

Planning and Development CommitteeCouncillor Biff Lowery

Economic Development CommitteeMayor Ike Laba

Alternates: Wendell Gustavson and

Claire Smerdon

Social Services Committee Councillor Claire Smerdon

Committee Chairs can arrange to have alternates as they choose.

The following Boards and Committees also have a requirement for appointees:

Public Works and Water Committee

Tim Gooderham, Don Johnson, Bob Comstock, Jim Krech, Staff Members Rene Laperriere, Barry Turcotte and Deb Larochelle

General Government and Finance Committee

Staff Member Brian Koski

Protection to Persons and Property Committee

Staff Sgt. Alex Ivanov, Paul Elliott, Monty Cummings, Ed Riopel, Jim Sanderson, Staff Member Brian Koski

Parks and Recreation Committee

Becky Mullin, Mike Phillips, Heidi Buck, Gerry Klassen, Staff Members J.C. Hebert, Natasha Loney

Economic Development Committee

Dorothy Cloet, Teresa DePater, Deborah Parmar, Larry Trahan, Bill Howell, Margaret Youngs, Barbara Pandolfo, Staff Members Natasha Loney, Karen Beauchamp, J.C. Hebert and Brian Koski

The Planning Advisory Committee/Committee of Adjustment

Lorie Hunter - Lake Temagami Neighbourhood Richard Grout - Lake Temagami Neighbourhood Claire Rannie - Lake Temagami Neighbourhood Marvyn Morrison - Urban Neighbourhood Kim Jones - Urban Neighbourhood Shelley Rowland - Marten River/Matabitchuan/B ackcountry Neighbourhood Councillor Biff Lowery, Staff Member: Karen Beauchamp, Brian Koski

The Cemetery Board

Bill Kitts, Shirley Lavigne, Becky Cummings, John Allair, Morris Etmanski, Mary Hartle and Betty Gauvreau Staff Member Bev Duquette

The Temagami Public Library Board

Councillor C. Smerdon, Evelyn Davies (Chair), Carol Lowery (Vice Chair), Joan Broughton, Sue Gooderham, Helen Molyneaux, Wendell Gustavson, Staff Member Shelley Rowland

The Temiskaming Health Unit (Temagami/Coleman/Latchford)

Doug Shearer

Social Services Committee

The Nipissing District Social Services Board	Claire Smerdon
The Au Chateau Board	Claire Smerdon
The Temagami Non-Profit Housing Authority	Claire Smerdon

Chamber of Commerce

Council appointee: None at this time.

Temiskaming Municipal Association

Ike Laba is the Council appointee.

The Temagami Police Services Board.

The community appointee is Don Johnson. Council Appointee Bill Kitts and there is a provincial appointee currently held by John Grass.

Cochrane-Temiskaming Waste Management Board

Staff Member Deb Larochelle

Provincial Offences Act Advisory Committee

The Municipal Appointee is Brian Koski