THE CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF TEMAGAMI

BY-LAW NO. 04-558

Being a by-law to designate an Acting Head for Council and assign Committees and Committee Responsibilities

WHEREAS Section 224, 225, and 226 of Part 6 of the Municipal Act S.O. 2001, c. 25, as amended requires that Wayne Adair, Mayor for the Corporation of the Municipality of Temagami, be appointed the head of the council and the chief executive officer of the corporation;

AND WHEREAS subsection 226 and 242 of the Municipal Act authorizes the council of any municipality to appoint, by by-law a member of Council to act from time to time in the place of the head of council when the head of the council is absent;

AND WHEREAS the Municipality of Temagami Procedural Bylaw authorizes appointment, with the written consent of the Head of Council, of members of council to sit on boards, commissions, or other bodies of which the head of council is a member by virtue of office, under any general or special Act, except a police services board;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the Corporation of the Municipality of Temagami enacts as follows:

- 1. That Bill Kitts shall serve as the Acting Mayor in the absence of Wayne Adair for the term of one year. Extension of the term or the rotation of the term shall be at the discretion of Council.
- 2. The Mayor appoint Council representatives to various boards, commissions and bodies. The appointments and the designation of Committees of Council are contained on Schedule (1) of this by-law and may be amended from time to time.
- 3. This by-law shall come into force and take effect on the date of passage of this bylaw..

Read a first and second time this 21st day of January, 2004.

Read a third time and finally passed this 21st day of January, 2004.

Mavor

Schedule 1

THE CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF TEMAGAMI

BY-LAW NO. 04-558

Being a by-law to designate an Acting Head for Council and assign Committees and Committee Responsibilities

The following appointments were made by resolution at the Inaugural Meeting of December 1, 2003 and hereby are incorporated into this Schedule:

General Government and Finance Committee Councillor Bill Kitts Alternate: Claire

Smerdon

Public Works and Water Committee Councillor Phil Koistinen Alternate

Ike Laba

Protection to Persons and Property Committee Councillor Kelly Prefasi Alternate

Bill Kitts

Parks and Recreation Committee Councillor Ike Laba Alternate: Kelly

Prefasi

Planning and Development CommitteeCouncillor Biff LoweryEconomic Development CommitteeCouncillor Ike Laba

Social Services Committee Councillor Claire Smerdon

Committee Chairs can arrange to have alternates as they choose.

The following Boards and Committees also have a requirement for appointees:

Public Works and Water Committee

Tim Gooderham, Gary Lavigne, Bob Comstock, Bill Howell, and Jim Kretch, Staff Members Rene Laperiere and Deb Larochelle

General Government and Finance Committee

Hilton Young, Ev Davies, Dale Debruyn, Marcella Berube and Rudy Goeree, Staff Member John Hodgson

Protection to Persons and Property Committee

Dave Oley, Staff Sgt. Alex Ivanov, Staff Members Paul Elliott, Monty Cummings, Charles Beauparlant, Debby Smith, and Jim Sanderson.

Parks and Recreation Committee

Becky Mullin, Sharon Humphrey, Rudy Goeree, Annette Cloutier and Carolyn Collins, Staff Paul Allair.

Economic Development Committee

Wilma Debruyn,, Drew Jacques, John Salo, Don Carr, Staff Pru Laffeniere .

The Planning Advisory Committee

Gerry Gooderham, Jim Hasler Barry Graham, Dale Debruyn, Rudy Goeree

The Cemetery Board

Bill Kitts, Shirley Lavigne, Becky Cummings, Morris Etmanski, Mary Hartle and Betty Gauvreau. Staff Member Bev Duquette

The Library Board

Ev Davies, Claire Smerdon, Carol Lowery, Staff Member Shelly Rowlands

The Temiskaming Health Unit (Temagami/Coleman/Latchford)

Biff Lowery

Caribou Mountain Committee

Bill Humphrey, Drew Jacques, John Salo.

Social Services Committee

The Nipissing District Social Services Board	Claire Smerdon
The Au Chateau Board	Claire Smerdon
The Temagami Non-Profit Housing Authority	Claire Smerdon
The Temiskaming Hospital Board (Temagami/Latchford)	Ev Davies.

Chamber of Commerce

Pru Lafrenierre is the Council appointee.

Temiskaming Municipal Association

Wayne Adair is the Council appointee.

The Temagami Police Services Board.

The Chair is a municipal council appointee Don Johnson. Council Appointee Kelly Prefasi and there is a provincial appointee currently held by Gary Reynolds.

Cochrane-Temiskaming Waste Management Board

Councillor P. Koistinen Tim Gooderham.

Lake Temagami Review Committee

This is a Committee that is responsible to review mining permits that may be applied for in Area No. 39 being the shoreline of Lake Temagami.

The members include: Tim Gooderham, Gerry Gooderham, Mike Leahy, Wayne Adair, TFN Chief and TAA Chief. Staff Member is John Hodgson

Provincial Offences Act Advisory Committee (Temagami Latchford)

There is one member appointed by Latchford his name is Bob McCarther